HerbParlor

Omega-3 · Read the Label

How to Read an Omega-3 Supplement Label

An omega-3 label can look simple and still hide the quantities that matter most for comparison. Here is a practical, evidence-aware guide to the main numbers on an omega-3 label — fish oil, EPA, DHA, and combined EPA + DHA — and how to compare products consistently without inventing values the label does not state.

Start here

Why omega-3 labels can be confusing

Line up several omega-3 products and the front panels often look almost identical: “fish oil,” “omega-3,” “1000 mg.” The information that actually determines how much EPA and DHA you get per serving lives on the Supplement Facts panel — and the headline oil amount is not necessarily the same as the amount of EPA and DHA.

The confusion comes from how several distinct quantities travel together on a label. A fish-oil amount, an EPA amount, a DHA amount, a serving size, and a servings-per-container figure each describe something different, and comparing products well means keeping them separate rather than collapsing them into a single headline number.

Omega-3 fatty acids are a family of long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids, and EPA and DHA are the two that omega-3 supplements most commonly declare. (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements) This article does not recommend an EPA or DHA amount for any person or outcome. It explains how to read the label and compare products on the facts that are actually declared.

The basics

The main numbers on an omega-3 label

The Supplement Facts panel is where the quantities are declared per serving. The FDA’s Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide describes the convention that the panel identifies the ingredients and declares the amounts per serving. (FDA Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide) The main numbers to look for are:

  • Total fish oil / oil amount — the total mass of fish-derived oil in one serving, where the label discloses it. This is the broadest figure and includes everything in the oil, not only the omega-3 fatty acids.
  • EPA amount — the explicitly declared mass of EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) per serving, where stated.
  • DHA amount — the explicitly declared mass of DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) per serving, where stated.
  • Combined EPA + DHA — the two added together. This is a derived figure, determinable only when both EPA and DHA are explicitly disclosed.
  • Serving size — the number of capsules, softgels, or other measure that all the listed amounts refer to.
  • Servings per container — how many of those servings the package holds in total.

It is important to keep track of which quantities are disclosed on the label and which are derived. The fish-oil amount, the EPA amount, the DHA amount, the serving size, and the servings per container are disclosed fields — they appear on the panel. Combined EPA + DHA is derived: it is calculated from the disclosed EPA and DHA amounts, and it only exists when both are present.

Keep them separate

Fish oil amount vs EPA + DHA

A product can disclose a total fish-oil (or oil) amount separately from the EPA and DHA amounts. The fish-oil figure is the total mass of oil in the serving; the EPA and DHA figures are the masses of two specific fatty acids inside that oil. They are different quantities, and they are usually different numbers.

Because fish oil contains omega-3 fatty acids, other fatty acids, and other components, the fish-oil amount is almost always larger than the combined EPA + DHA amount. Two products can both list “1000 mg fish oil” and still deliver different amounts of EPA and DHA — the headline is the same, but what you actually get of those two fatty acids is not.

This article does not invent a universal ratio between fish oil and EPA + DHA, and it does not claim that one concentration is inherently superior. A higher or lower concentration is a fact about how the product is formulated, not a verdict on quality, effectiveness, or suitability. The point is to read the fish-oil amount and the EPA/DHA amounts as separate fields rather than treating the headline as the comparison number.

Terminology

EPA and DHA

EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) and DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) are two distinct long-chain omega-3 fatty acids — different compounds, not synonyms for each other and not synonyms for “fish oil.” On a transparent label they each appear as their own line in the Supplement Facts panel, with a mass declared per serving.

For a deeper explanation of what each fatty acid is and how to read them on the panel, the existing guide covers the terminology in full:

The simple math

How to calculate combined EPA + DHA

Where both the EPA amount and the DHA amount are explicitly provided on the label, the combined EPA + DHA figure is simple arithmetic:

EPA amount + DHA amount = combined EPA + DHA

For example, a serving that declares 300 mg EPA and 200 mg DHA provides a combined EPA + DHA of 500 mg. This is a straightforward addition of two disclosed numbers — nothing more.

This calculation is only valid when both values are explicitly stated. If either EPA or DHA is missing, the combined figure cannot be determined honestly — and no value should be inferred. Do not estimate a missing EPA or DHA amount from the fish-oil or total omega-3 figure; that would be an assumption, not a label fact.

Compare what is declared

Understanding omega-3 concentration

Because the fish-oil amount and the EPA + DHA amount are different quantities, comparing products on the headline oil amount alone can be misleading. The honest approach is to compare the actual disclosed EPA and DHA quantities — and the combined EPA + DHA where it is determinable — rather than relying only on a headline fish-oil number.

For a full treatment of why 1,000 mg fish oil is not the same as 1,000 mg EPA + DHA, and how HerbParlor standardizes omega-3 value on a common basis, the existing guide explains the concentration distinction in detail:

This article does not introduce a new concentration formula. The existing HerbParlor explanation already supports the concept: compare the disclosed EPA and DHA quantities, not the headline oil amount.

Comparison basis

Serving size matters

The EPA and DHA quantities on a label apply to the stated serving size — not to one capsule, and not to a day’s intake unless the serving is defined that way. Before comparing any amounts, check:

  • Serving size — the reference quantity all listed amounts refer to.
  • Number of softgels or capsules per serving — where the label explicitly states it. Do not assume a capsule count or a serving definition when the label does not provide it.
  • Servings per container — how many of those servings the package holds in total.

Serving sizes are not standardized across omega-3 products. One product may declare its amounts per single softgel, another per two softgels, and a third per three capsules. Comparing products “per capsule” treats unlike servings as if they were the same and is wrong in every case where the serving sizes differ.

The honest way to compare is to anchor every product to the same amount of combined EPA + DHA and compare what each product costs to deliver that amount. Serving size becomes an input to that calculation, not the unit of comparison itself. A product with a one-softgel serving is not automatically weaker or stronger; a product with a three-capsule serving is not automatically a better or worse value. Those only become meaningful next to the EPA + DHA per serving, the servings per container, and the price.

Be honest about gaps

What missing information means

Labels do not always state everything you would want for comparison, and the honest response to a gap is to recognize it — not to fill it in. Use neutral language for the gaps that come up most often with omega-3 labels:

  • Missing EPA amount — the EPA quantity cannot be established from the provided information.
  • Missing DHA amount — the DHA quantity cannot be established from the provided information.
  • Missing serving size — the disclosed amounts cannot be interpreted reliably in serving terms, because you do not know what quantity of product they refer to.

Missing information is not automatically evidence of poor quality. A label that does not state EPA or DHA separately may simply follow a different disclosure convention; it does not follow that the product is mislabeled, untested, or low quality. The right move is to flag the gap neutrally and avoid inferring values that are not stated. Never turn missing information into a negative product judgment.

Avoid these

Common omega-3 label-reading mistakes

  • Comparing total fish-oil amount instead of EPA + DHA. Two products with the same “1000 mg fish oil” headline can deliver very different amounts of EPA and DHA. The fish-oil figure is the total oil mass, not the comparable fatty-acid amount.
  • Confusing serving size with capsule count. A serving may be one, two, or three softgels. Treating “per capsule” as the comparison unit when servings differ makes unlike quantities look equivalent.
  • Assuming a named oil amount equals EPA + DHA. “Fish oil 1000 mg” does not mean “EPA + DHA 1000 mg.” The oil contains EPA and DHA plus other components, and the EPA + DHA amount is almost always smaller.
  • Calculating a combined value when one component is missing. If either EPA or DHA is not stated, the combined EPA + DHA cannot be determined. Inferring the missing value from the fish-oil or total omega-3 figure is an assumption, not a calculation.
  • Treating missing information as zero. An absent EPA or DHA amount is unavailable, not zero. Assuming zero understates the product and breaks any comparison built on it.

Method

How to compare omega-3 labels consistently

A fair comparison puts the disclosed quantities alongside the other facts a label and a product record can document, rather than treating any single number as the whole story. No new score or ranking is introduced here — this is the same framework HerbParlor applies across categories.

When comparing omega-3 labels, consider together:

  • Form / ingredient identity — the named oil or concentrate, such as fish oil or concentrated fish oil.
  • Serving size — the reference quantity all amounts refer to.
  • EPA amount — the explicitly declared EPA mass per serving.
  • DHA amount — the explicitly declared DHA mass per serving.
  • Combined EPA + DHA — the two added together, where both are stated.
  • Servings per container — how many servings the package holds.
  • Product transparency — whether the form, the oil amount, and the separate EPA and DHA amounts are declared plainly.
  • Source / provenance — the manufacturer, the market, and the source records behind the product information.
  • Verification information — any documented third-party testing or certification, recorded as attributed rather than independently confirmed by this site. (USP)
  • Standardized comparison quantity — where the existing normalization supports it, the comparable omega-3 quantity on a common basis.

None of these factors alone decides which product is “best.” A product that declares more EPA + DHA per serving is not automatically better, and a cheaper product is not automatically better value until its standardized quantity is known. The point is to compare on the facts that are actually declared, and to say so when a fact is missing.

Use it

Practical label checklist

Use this concise checklist when you read an omega-3 label. It keeps the disclosed quantities in context and points you to the figures that actually support comparison.

  • What is the serving size?
  • How much oil / fish oil is listed?
  • How much EPA?
  • How much DHA?
  • Is combined EPA + DHA determinable (both EPA and DHA stated)?
  • How many servings are in the container?
  • Which supporting product information (form, manufacturer, source, verification) is actually documented?

If any of these fields is missing, flag it as needing review rather than guessing it. Missing information is unavailable, not zero.

Go further

Next steps

Once you can read an omega-3 label and find the disclosed EPA and DHA amounts per serving, HerbParlor’s omega-3 tools let you put that literacy to work. The primary next step is to compare omega-3 products side by side; the secondary tools help you inspect a specific label and its serving structure.

Compare omega-3 products

Place omega-3 products side by side to see form, disclosed EPA and DHA, serving structure, standardized quantity, and transparency information together.

Compare Omega-3 Products

More omega-3 reading and tools on HerbParlor:

Provenance

Sources

  • Omega-3 Fatty Acids — Fact Sheet for Health Professionals

    NIH Office of Dietary Supplements

    View source
  • Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration

    View source
  • USP Dietary Supplements Verification

    U.S. Pharmacopeia

    View source

This article is provided for educational purposes only and is not medical advice. It does not recommend an EPA or DHA amount, brand, or product, and it does not assert that more EPA or DHA is automatically better or appropriate for any person. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, have a medical condition, or are taking medication.